CHRISTMAS BIN COLLECTION ARRANGEMENTS

You may already have received a letter about the revised arrangements for bin collection over the Christmas and New Year period however please find below the letter that has been distrubuted to all householders in Leeds.

Dear Householder,

IMPORTANT Information about your bin collections over the Christmas period.

Changes to bin services over Christmas and the New Year 2014 / 2015
If your normal bin day is …. It is changed to …
Monday 22 December Sunday 21 December
Tuesday 23 December Monday 22 December
Wednesday 24 December Tuesday 23 December
Thursday 25 December Wednesday 24 December
Friday 26 December Saturday 27 December
Saturday 27 December Sunday 28 December
Monday 29 December No change
Tuesday 30 December No change
Wednesday 31 January No change
Thursday 1 January Friday 2 January
Friday 2 January Saturday 3 January
Saturday 3 January Sunday 4 January
Monday 5 January No change
Tuesday 6 January No change

Do not put glass bottles or jars in your bins. Please leave metal caps and lids on and use bottle banks – most supermarkets have them, so drop when you shop!

Please put your bin out by 7a.m. on your collection day and put it back again as soon as possible after it has been emptied. Assisted collections will be wheeled out and back again, as normal. 

Your bin service will return to your normal collection days in in the New Year. If you need a routine reminder of your bin day, you can check at www.leeds.gov.uk/mybinday. If you do not have the internet at home, your local library or One Stop Centre can help you to get online.

Brown bin (garden waste) service: If you receive a garden waste service, please note that it ended at the end of November for the winter and will start again in March 2015.

There is lots of advice to help you have a greener Christmas and save money on the reverse of this letter.

Finally, I would like to say a big thankyou for your commitment to recycling.  As a city, we have now increased recycling to almost 44% and reduced the amount of waste we send to landfill.    This means we are reducing CO2 and harmful gases which contribute to global warming, and making sure that more of the city’s money goes on services rather than landfill charges. 

Overall, this contributes to Leeds becoming the best it can be – and the best city in the UK.